Skip to:
Content

bbPress.org

Opened 15 years ago

Closed 14 years ago

Last modified 14 years ago

#1593 closed defect (bug) (fixed)

Deleting the bbPress plugin does not delete configuration and forum data

Reported by: richardjmoon Owned by:
Priority: low Milestone: 2.2
Component: General - Administration Version:
Severity: minor Keywords:
Cc: stephen@…

Description

When you deactivate and then delete the bbPress plugin from the Wordpress Dashboard, configuration data and Forum data is not deleted. For example, I created a Forum named "Education", and after I deleted the plugin, I could still see the forum in the database. When I reinstalled the plugin, the Education forum was still in place.

Change History (6)

#1 @johnjamesjacoby
15 years ago

  • Milestone Awaiting Review2.1
  • Version 2.0

This is by design. bbPress 2.0 does not yet include a proper uninstall routine, and most likely won't until 2.1.

#2 @johnjamesjacoby
15 years ago

  • Milestone 2.1Future Release

Bumping to Future Release to limit 2.1 scope.

#3 @netweb
14 years ago

  • Cc stephen@… added

#4 follow-up: @studiograsshopper
14 years ago

My preference would be for a specific option to be selected by the admin when deleting the plugin. In other words, the removal of the database data should not be automatic. This will allow for cases where, some reason, someone wants to delete the bbPress plugin folder via the Dashboard, but intends to reinstall the files at a later stage.

#5 in reply to: ↑ 4 @johnjamesjacoby
14 years ago

  • Milestone Future Release2.2
  • Resolutionfixed
  • Status newclosed

Replying to studiograsshopper:

My preference would be for a specific option to be selected by the admin when deleting the plugin. In other words, the removal of the database data should not be automatic. This will allow for cases where, some reason, someone wants to delete the bbPress plugin folder via the Dashboard, but intends to reinstall the files at a later stage.

This came as part of bbPress 2.2. Closing as fixed.

#6 @johnjamesjacoby
14 years ago

Worth noting that automatically deleting all of the data associated with bbPress is not something I'm comfortable doing. bbPress comes with a Reset Script that will purge the data if someone really wants to do it, but in that case it's opt-in, not opt-out.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.