Skip to:
Content

Opened 5 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#2608 closed defect (worksforme)

Users reallocated role despite setting a user to no role

Reported by: Robin W Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: API - Roles/Capabilities Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Whilst testing for something else, a behaviour I'd not expect as a site admin.

Users reallocated role despite setting a user to no role

Dashboard>settings>forums

Automatically give registered visitors the participant role set to ON

If the admin then manually set a particular user to ‘No role for these forums’ say to stop them seeing the private forums, then as soon as the user next logs in, the user is given back the participant role, so can immediately see and participate in the private forums.

Setting to blocked of course stops all access, which an admin might not want.

Having manually set a ‘no access’ I would not expect bbpress to then give one.

I suspect that there is no 'simple' fix as on login bbpress would not know whether the lack of role was intentional.

However adding 'No role for these forums' to the automatically assign options in settings would at least give a way to prevent this !

Change History (2)

#1 @netweb
5 years ago

This works for me as expected.

Automatically give registered visitors the participant role set to ON

That is your issue, set this to off (unchecked) to achieve what you are trying to.

If 'Auto Role' is enabled and a user does not have a role when logging in they will be assigned the default role set by this option which is 'Participant' by default essentially performing what is described in the auto role description:

" Automatically give registered visitors the participant forum role"

If you want to do as you describe, "stop a registered user from seeing private forums" you would set 'Auto Role' to off (unchecked) then when the user logs in they will NOT be assigned the participant role and will be unable to see the private forums.

#2 @netweb
5 years ago

  • Component changed from General to Roles/Capabilities
  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.